The property came into being in the 19th century following the marriage of Guillaume Rousseau, owner of Domaine Frêche and Marie Bert, owner of the Domaine de Sipian.   Both these properties in the Medoc appellation were cited in the 1839 Féret.

After the marriage the two properties were joined together under the name of Château Sipian, name also given to the renaissance style château built in 1850 by the Rousseau family.   At that time production was around 100 to 150 barrels per annum.

An extract from the 10th edition of Féret’s Bordeaux et ses Vins in 1929 recounts :

“Constructed on the plans of Mr. Bonorre, the chateau dominates a huge property which covers every kind of culture undertaken in the Médoc.   It produces on its clayey-gravel slopes a wine that is highly esteemed by the trade;  in the areas of alluvial deposits wheat and hay of the finest quality; in the sandy areas, pine and locust trees.    The vineyard of around 40 hectares has for many years been regularly planted with the best grape varieties, meticulously renewed.; the installation of the cellars, vat room and other outbuildings has been well designed for good vinification, economy of energy and surveillance.”

Between 1920 and 1947 two owners succeeded each other and in 1947 the chateau and surrounding vineyard were sold.

From 1947 until 1989, period during which the Château belonged consecutively to the Compagnie Française de  Matériel des Chemins de Fer and the Marcel Dassault company, the viti-vinicultural activity was interrupted and the buildings were used as a holiday centre.

At the end of the 1980’s, the Château was acquired by a couple who decided to renew  the tradition of producing wine.      Having purchased several parcels of old vines and planted some new parcels in the grounds of the Château, production began again.   This renewal of the activity imposed the adoption of a new name, the original name having been lost due to the interruption of production.

This then is the origin of the name Château Rousseau de Sipian, with its reference to the name of the Rousseau family who built the Château and to the former name of the Domaine de Sipian.

The vini-viticultural activity continued and in October 2000, Christopher Racey and his father Roy, both passionate wine-lovers, acquired the Château and began extensive modernisation work in the cellars and in the vineyard.   Their efforts were immediately rewarded on the presentation of their first vintage, the 2001, which was awarded a gold medal at the Concours de Bordeaux Vins d’Aquitaine in 2003.

Whilst Christopher was supervising the modernisation of the cellars, his wife Jacqui was restoring the Château to its former splendour.   Today the Château offers hospitality to wine lovers from all over the world who pass through the region.  Warmly welcomed by Christopher and Jacqui, these privileged guests  make the most of their stay in a haven of peace.



 




 
Château Rousseau de Sipian - Vin du Médoc - Route du Port de Goulée - 33340 Valeyrac - France - Tel: 05 56 41 54 92 - E-mail: rousseaudesipian@orange.fr
© ID33 2010

L’origine de l’exploitation prend sa source au XIXème siècle de l’union de Guillaume Rousseau propriétaire du Domaine Frêche et de Marie Bert propriétaire du Domaine de Sipian, Les deux propriétés en appellation Médoc Cru Bourgeois étaient répertoriées dans le Féret dès 1839.

Ces deux entités sont alors réunies à cette époque sous le nom de Château Sipian, nom que porte également l’édifice de style renaissance construit en 1850 par la famille Rousseau . La production avoisine à cette époque les 100 à 150 tonneaux par an.

Un extrait de la Xème édition du Féret 1929 Bordeaux et ses Vins témoigne :
« Construit sur les plans de Mr Bonorre, le château commande un vaste domaine qui comprend tous les genres de cultures du Médoc. Il produit, dans les terres argilo-graveleuses des coteaux, un vin très estimé du commerce ; dans les alluvions, des blés et des foins de première qualité ; dans les sables, des pins et des acacias. Le vignoble d’une contenance de 40 hectares environ, est depuis longtemps complanté des meilleurs cépages, renouvelés avec soin ; l’installation des chais, cuviers et bâtiments d’exploitation y est très complet au point de vue de la bonne vinification, de l’économie de la main d’œuvre et de la surveillance ».

Entre 1920 et 1947 deux propriétaires se succèdent et en 1947, le château et le vignoble attenant sont vendus.

De 1947 à 1989, période pendant laquelle le domaine appartient successivement à la Compagnie Française de Matériel des Chemins de Fer et l’entreprise Marcel Dassault, l’activité viti-vinicole est interrompue et les bâtiments sont reconvertis en centre de vacances.

A la fin des années 80, un couple se porte acquéreur du château et décide de renouer avec la vigne et le vin. Avec l’achat de quelques parcelles de vieilles vignes et la plantation de nouvelles parcelles dans l’enceinte du Château, la production reprend. Ce renouveau de l’activité impose l’adoption d’un nouveau nom, le nom d’origine ayant été perdu en raison de l’interruption de production. C’est ainsi que prend naissance le nom du Château Rousseau de Sipian, en référence à la famille Rousseau qui fit construire l’édifice et à l’ancien nom du domaine de Sipian.

L’activité viti-vinicole se poursuit et en Octobre 2000, Christopher Racey et son père Roy, passionnés passionnés et grands amateurs de vins, acquièrent la propriété et débutent d’importants travaux de modernisation des chais et du vignoble … des efforts récompensés dès la présentation de leur premier millésime 2001, gratifié d’une médaille d’or au concours de Bordeaux Vins d’Aquitaine en 2003.

Alors que Christopher supervisait la modernisation apportée à la vinification, son épouse Jacqui prenait soin de redonner au château ses splendeurs d’antan. Aujourd’hui le Château offre l’hospitalité aux amateurs de vin des quatre coins du monde qui sillonnent notre région. Accueillis chaleureusement par Christopher et Jacqui, ces «privilégiés » profitent de leur séjour dans un havre de paix.

 




 
Château Rousseau de Sipian - Vin du Médoc - Route du Port de Goulée - 33340 Valeyrac - France - Tel: 05 56 41 54 92 - E-mail: rousseaudesipian@orange.fr
Château du Médoc - Rousseau de Sipian Millésime 2009 Cru Bourgeois Médaille d'Argent au Concours Général Agricole de Paris en 2012
© ID33